Grilled Chicken Wings

Chicken wings and an apple, carrot and green leaf salad

There are so many variations and all kinds of methodologies for grilled chicken wings nowadays so why would mine stand out?

Simple. I adapted the recipe. Props to Sarah Welch for the inspiration, though my version has a twist and is totally extra. If you like extra, then you are in the right place.

For a quick turn around lunch and complete derailment for the purpose of which I got these chicken wings (to make Chinese chicken wings), I thought having an indoor barbeque, AKA oven grill with fan – would do, for the seemingly super sunny but rather windy weather we had. What with me being indoors.

Now this recipe has a fantastic marinade which requires you season this dish within an inch of its life for 30 minutes or as long as 8 hours. Mine lasted all of 45 minutes because I’m not that patient and I was starving.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon Lemon zest
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon English mustard (I used piccalilli just to use it up)
  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley, the rest for garnish
  • 1 tablespoon chopped thyme leaves 
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons garlic
Marinated Chicken Wings

Method

Mix everything together and marinate for 30 minutes – 4 hours. You can push it to 8 if you are one of those people who (planned ahead) want their food to discover spirituality – #soulfood.

Store it in the fridge.

I have made this recipe twice, now and on both occasions I timed my marinade for just over 30 minuets. Clearly, I did not have the foresight that I would be grilling wings this way.

I lined my oven with foil paper, since I am not using an outdoor grill, cranked up the heat to max heat and let the oven heat up. I would not get a grill to use outside a flat in London. It’s just me though – besides, I wouldn’t want everyone all up in my grill like that.

Up in y’all’s grills

How long should you cook these for?

30 minutes. Cook on both sides for 10 minutes at high heat and drop your temperature while it cooks a further 5 minutes on each side.

Wings on a grill

10 minutes on one side and 10 on the other taking turns flipping them. Basically you want to hear your grill sizzle when you put the wings on.

Grilling Chicken Wings

Back home (my home country), we would coat the charcoal grill with oil, using a barbecue brush or whatever tool we had. While that would set the mood, the downsides were the air would get all smoked up, your eyes would tear up, you would nonetheless look forward to eating the fruit of your labour just to realise all along, your natural body odour steadily merged smells with charcoal so much that it feels like you had been on that grill. I say this as I’m reminded of a stroll I took through the canals in London and noticed people burned coal on their boats. A short walk through their smoke got me longing to be back home enveloped in the smells of coal and smoke just to hate it profusely shortly after.

The unnecessary digression!

Marinade consisting of herbs and spices

Now what happens to that beautiful, left over marinade?

I heat mine up in the microwave for 4 – 6 minutes, stirring occasionally. I can either use it as a dip or coat my wings with this sticky goodness once they’re ready to be served.

Finger licking could not be this good. A mayo, Ketchup,(siracha), tabasco salt and pepper dip is another way to go. Have this extra dip if you’re eating your chicken wings with friends, fried ripe plantains, chips and don’t forget to make a crunchy salad 🥰. Veg is dope!!!

Let me know if you have tried this recipe – and let me know how this worked for you.

Grilled chicken wings and a salad
Grilled wings, friend plantains and a homemade dip

XOXO cc

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.